All children have the right to be protected from harm.  This right is enshrined in the United Nations Convention on the Rights of a Child.  The United Kingdom has accepted this right and has developed legislation that allows professionals to intervene if they are concerned about the kind of care a child is receiving.

The Designated Teachers for Safeguarding are

  • Kat Laurie: Assistant Head Teacher (DSL)
  • Oliver Winstone: Head of School
  • Tania McKean: EYFS Leader
  • Emma Hobin Brady: SENCO
  • Michelle Fernandes: AHT
  • Sarah Young: Executive Head

  • If you are concerned about a child, please see the Safeguarding Lead in the first instance or in their absence any other member of the Safeguarding Team.

The Governors and Staff of Hillsgrove Primary School fully recognise the responsibility and duty placed upon them to have arrangements in place to safeguard and promote the welfare of all children at the school and that all staff and volunteers have a full and active part to play in protecting children from harm. We believe that our school provides a positive, caring, safe and stimulating environment in which children can learn and which promotes the social, physical and emotional wellbeing of each individual.

Hillsgrove Safeguarding Team 2022